Crypto Gateway Index

Ranked #41 of 46 · checked 2026-09-02

Coinsnap review

Coinsnap scores 4.8 of 10 on this index and ranks #41 of 46. It publishes no processing rate. It lists 1+ assets. Verification is not disclosed. It publishes 53% of the fields tracked here.

Bitcoin and Lightning only, with the longest list of shop plugins of any commercial card here.

Score
4.8/10
Processing from
Assets listed
1+
Merchant verification
Not disclosed
Custody
Discloses
53%

Coinsnap at a glance

Provider site
Processing from
Conversion
Payouts
Assets listed1+
NetworksBitcoin, Lightning
Merchant verificationNot disclosed
Custody
JurisdictionNot stated on the provider's public pages
Operating since
IntegrationsWooCommerce, Shopify, PrestaShop, Magento, OpenCart, Wix, API

A dash means the provider does not publish the figure, not that we did not look. Fee figures come from the provider's own pricing page.

What can Coinsnap do?

Mass payouts: not stated Fiat settlement White label: not stated Recurring billing: not stated Point of sale Invoicing

Verticals the provider names publicly: ecommerce, retail-pos, nonprofit.

How does Coinsnap score?

Weights
CriterionWeightScore
Assets, networks and geography
How many assets and chains are live for merchants, and in which markets settlement actually works.
25 3
All-in cost
Processing percentage, conversion spread and payout cost taken together, not the headline number alone.
25 4
Onboarding and verification
What a merchant must submit before going live, how long it takes, and which verticals are refused outright.
20 5
Integrations and API
Maintained plugins, API surface, webhook reliability and whether a developer can reach a test transaction from public docs alone.
18 8
Support and operations
Reachable channels, published response commitments, and documented handling of underpayment and wrong-network sends.
12 5
Weighted total4.8

Coinsnap across the five criteria

Scored 0–10 · weighted total 4.8

Assets, networks and geography weight 25
3
All-in cost weight 25
4
Onboarding and verification weight 20
5
Integrations and API weight 18
8
Support and operations weight 12
5
Each criterion is scored 0–10 from what the provider publishes, then weighted. The bars show the shape of the card: where it is strong, where it is thin, and whether the total rests on one line or on all five.

Where it is strong

  • Names more shop and form integrations than any other commercial provider in this index, including eight WordPress form and membership plugins.
  • Supports Lightning alongside on-chain Bitcoin, which is the difference between a viable and an unviable small payment.
  • Offers settlement either into the merchant's own Bitcoin wallet or as euros into a bank account, with the choice left open.

Where it is weak

  • No transaction fee, monthly fee or plan pricing appears on any page we could read.
  • Bitcoin only, so a customer holding a stablecoin cannot pay at all.

One asset, on purpose#

This card carries a count of one, and that is not a gap in the research. Bitcoin on-chain and Lightning are the whole product, and everything else this provider builds sits on top of that single decision rather than working around it.

The consequence is blunt. A customer holding a stablecoin cannot pay, and stablecoins are the majority of what actually moves through the other cards in this index. Read the stablecoin page before deciding that narrowness is a philosophical stance rather than lost revenue.

Lightning is what makes the narrowness workable#

On-chain Bitcoin is unusable for a four-euro payment: the network fee and the wait both exceed the transaction. Lightning removes both, and a provider supporting it can serve a bakery in a way an on-chain-only card simply cannot.

That is why the single asset does not sink this card outright. Within its chosen boundary the product is coherent, and the point-of-sale app that turns a phone into a terminal is the clearest expression of it.

The plugin list is the standout#

WooCommerce, Shopify, Shopware, Gambio, PrestaShop, Magento, OpenCart, Drupal, Wix, JTL and Modified Shop, plus WordPress add-ons for Contact Form 7, WPForms, Gravity Forms, GiveWP, Ninja Forms, Easy Digital Downloads, Paid Memberships Pro and GetPaid.

That form-plugin shelf is the interesting half. Taking bitcoin through a donation form or a membership signup is exactly where a small organisation gets stuck, and nobody else in this index has bothered to build for it.

Both settlement modes, and neither one priced#

Funds go either straight to the merchant's own Bitcoin wallet or, if preferred, as euros to a bank account. Offering both is genuinely flexible and it is also why the custody field on this card is a dash: the answer depends on which mode the merchant picks.

Neither mode has a price attached. No transaction percentage, no monthly figure, no plan table on any page we could reach, which leaves the most basic question about this provider unanswered in public.

The missing price list#

Cost is the one field a reader always comes for and this card cannot supply it. The pricing pages we requested returned no figures at all, so processing, conversion and payout are all recorded here as checked absences.

In a category where a one percent norm is well established, silence usually means at or above the norm. That is an inference rather than a fact, and this card does not score on inferences — but it is the reason cost sits low here.

Who should shortlist this#

A German or wider European small business already running one of those eleven shop platforms, content to take Bitcoin only, and needing euros in the bank. The setup effort is close to zero and the vertical fit is good.

Donation-taking organisations get the strongest case. The GiveWP and form-plugin integrations do a job nobody else here does, and the nonprofit page covers what else to check before committing.

Who should not#

Anyone whose customers pay in stablecoins, which in practice means most online merchants selling outside a Bitcoin-native audience. The single asset is a hard boundary and no amount of plugin coverage moves it.

Anyone needing a modelled cost before a decision. With no published rate the comparison has to happen after contact, and the providers that publish one can be evaluated this afternoon instead.

Where Coinsnap sits in the index#

Integrations score near the top and coverage near the bottom, which is exactly what a deliberately Bitcoin-only product looks like when measured on a scale built for general processors. The score is fair and it undersells the fit where the fit is right.

Everything above came from the provider's own pages on 2026-09-02. Dropping the coverage weight at the methodology page is the honest way to read this card if Bitcoin is all you intend to accept.

How should you read this card?

The score of 4.8 comes from the five weighted criteria above, applied identically to every provider in the catalogue. If you weight the criteria differently, the methodology page re-ranks the whole index against your weights, and the order you get is as valid as this one.

The disclosure figure of 53% is a separate measurement and often the more useful one. It counts only the fields Coinsnap publishes itself, so it predicts how much of your evaluation will happen over email rather than from documentation. If you are already using Coinsnap and looking to leave, the switching page covers the closest replacements.

What Coinsnap does not disclose

Checked against the provider's own pages on 2026-09-02. Coinsnap does not publish the processing rate, what conversion costs, what payouts cost, what merchant verification it requires, custodial, founded, whether mass payouts are supported, whether white label is available, whether recurring billing is supported.

Ask for each of these in writing before signing. A provider that answers a factual question with positioning has told you something useful about the next two years.

Coinsnap compared

All comparisons

Where else Coinsnap appears

Questions about Coinsnap

Is Coinsnap legit?

Coinsnap does not publish a founding date and does not state a jurisdiction on its public pages. It publishes 53% of the fields this index tracks. Nothing here is a security assessment: run your own checks on custody and settlement before sending volume through any processor.

What does Coinsnap charge?

Coinsnap does not publish a processing rate. The figure has to come from sales, which means it cannot be compared with published rates without asking.

Does Coinsnap require KYC?

Coinsnap does not publish its merchant verification requirements. That is a planning risk rather than an answer, and it is why this card scores as it does on onboarding.

What are the best Coinsnap alternatives?

The three closest substitutes are OpenNode, BTCPay Server, CoinGate. Which one fits depends on whether you are leaving over cost, coverage or onboarding.

Last checked 13 days ago
Sources
  1. coinsnap.io/en/
  2. coinsnap.io/en/faq/