36 providers · checked September 2026
Best Bitcoin payment gateways
Speend leads this list at 8.3 of 10. NOWPayments follows at 8.0, then BTCPay Server at 7.7. Providers that settle Bitcoin, including the two supporting Lightning, compared on published rates, settlement terms and what each one declines to publish.
How this list was built
Every provider whose published network list includes Bitcoin, ordered by weighted score.
The shortlist
Weights| Gateway | Score | From | Assets | Verification | Settles fiat | Discloses |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| | 8.3 | 0.5% | 300 | KYB only | 63% | |
| | 8.0 | 1% | 350 | Not disclosed | 68% | |
| | 7.7 | 0% | None stated | No | 74% | |
| | 7.4 | 0.5% | Not disclosed | 58% | ||
| | 7.4 | 0.4% | 120 | Not disclosed | 74% | |
| | 7.1 | 0% | 50 | None stated | No | 84% |
| | 7.1 | 0% | 20 | KYB only | Yes | 84% |
| | 7.0 | 0% | 300 | KYB only | No | 79% |
| | 7.0 | 0% | 13 | None stated | 63% | |
| | 7.0 | 0.5% | 74 | KYB and KYC | 63% | |
| | 6.9 | 0.5% | 12 | Not disclosed | 68% | |
| | 6.8 | 0.4% | 200 | Not disclosed | 68% | |
| | 6.7 | 1% | 10 | Not disclosed | Yes | 89% |
| | 6.7 | 0.5% | KYB only | Yes | 79% | |
| | 6.7 | 0% | 100 | None stated | No | 89% |
| | 6.6 | 0.25% | KYB only | Yes | 74% | |
| | 6.6 | 0.5% | Not disclosed | Yes | 68% | |
| | 6.6 | 1.5% | 20 | None stated | 79% | |
| PayCek | 6.4 | 0% | 59 | Not disclosed | Yes | 74% |
| | 6.3 | 0.95% | Not disclosed | Yes | 53% | |
| | 6.2 | 1% | 10 | KYB and KYC | 58% | |
| | 6.1 | 0% | Not disclosed | 58% | ||
| | 6.1 | — | 1 | Not disclosed | Yes | 68% |
| | 6.0 | 0.99% | 19 | Not disclosed | 53% | |
| | 6.0 | 0% | KYB only | Yes | 68% | |
| | 6.0 | 0.5% | 12 | Not disclosed | Yes | 68% |
| | 5.8 | 1.5% | 14 | None stated | No | 58% |
| | 5.8 | 1% | KYB and KYC | Yes | 68% | |
| | 5.7 | 0.8% | 8 | Not disclosed | 47% | |
| | 5.6 | 2% | 15 | KYB and KYC | Yes | 79% |
| | 5.6 | 1% | Not disclosed | 32% | ||
| | 5.6 | 1% | 3 | Not disclosed | No | 74% |
| | 4.8 | — | 1 | Not disclosed | Yes | 53% |
| | 4.8 | 1% | 2 | Not disclosed | 58% | |
| | 4.7 | — | 20 | Not disclosed | Yes | 58% |
| | 4.7 | — | Not disclosed | Yes | 53% |
Every provider on this list
Merchant-side model: the business passes KYB, the payer opens nothing and sees no identity check.
Widest published asset list in the category, at a flat rate, non-custodial by default.
Self-hosted open-source processor that takes no fee and never holds the merchant's funds.
Long-running processor split-priced between coins and tokens, with batch withdrawals.
Rate falls to 0.4% with volume, and the plugin range is unusually wide for a newer provider.
Open-source, self-hosted processor with no fees and no third party, covering 50+ assets including Monero and Lightning.
No transaction fee and a 0.5% settlement fee, fiat payouts in USD, EUR and AUD, plugins for six platforms.
Zero-fee closed-loop payments from Binance's user base, settled inside a Binance merchant account across 300+ assets.
Charges nothing to accept and 0.23% on withdrawal, with no identity check at registration.
Publishes both halves of the bill: 0.5% to process, 0.2% to convert, capped at 3.5% all in.
Lowest published headline rate, with a white-label tier priced openly rather than on request.
Charges nothing on settlement, payouts, conversion or mass payouts, and publishes that.
European processor with the most completely published fee table in the index.
One all-inclusive fee from 0.5% with conversion and next-day fiat settlement built in, plus in-store terminals.
WordPress plugin with a flat annual licence and zero per-transaction fees, paying wallet to wallet across 100+ assets.
Publishes a full tiered fee table including bank rails, which almost nobody in this category does.
Built around iGaming volume, with fiat settlement and a SoftSwiss connector.
Publishes a separate rate for every product it sells, from 1.5% invoices to 2% white label.
Croatian processor that charges the merchant nothing and pays out the invoice in euros.
Spanish gateway priced from 0.95% that settles every payment into a euro bank account.
A flat 1% from a listed public company, settling on-chain into USDC.
Non custodial, free to accept, with the charge moved entirely to withdrawal.
Bitcoin and Lightning only, with free conversion and same-day fiat settlement.
Publishes a per-asset network fee table, which almost nobody in this category does.
Danish processor since 2014 with no merchant processing fee on the Coinify-rate model and weekly fiat payouts above a stated minimum.
Prices crypto payments at 0.5% plus a flat 50 cents and publishes a rate for every other product too.
Non-custodial payment box at 1.5% that forwards straight to the merchant's own wallet, with no verification.
Singapore-licensed, aimed at Asia-Pacific and MENA, settling local currency to merchants.
Eight stablecoin-and-Bitcoin rails at 0.8%, with plugins for eight ecommerce platforms.
The longest-running processor in the category, priced at the top of it.
Non custodial by design, at a flat 1%, with the first ten payments free.
Lightning-first gateway for Bitcoin, USDT and USDC: no fee until 0.5 BTC of volume, 1% after, sub-second settlement.
Bitcoin and Lightning only, with the longest list of shop plugins of any commercial card here.
Subscription billing for Bitcoin businesses: $25 a month, 1% on top, capped at $15 per transaction.
Automatic conversion to fiat and bulk crypto payouts from one account, with no rate published.
Licensed Romanian e-money institution offering crypto acceptance, recurring billing and card issuing.
On this page
Why the network matters more than the provider#
On-chain Bitcoin confirms in roughly ten minutes per block and costs a transfer fee that is fixed per transaction rather than proportional. At a small ticket size both of those are wrong, and no amount of provider quality compensates.
Lightning fixes both, settling in seconds at negligible cost. If small payments are your case, provider support for Lightning is the requirement and everything else on this page is secondary. The Bitcoin page covers the mechanics.
Confirmation policy is a commercial setting#
Providers decide how many confirmations count as final, and that choice trades their reversal risk against your customer's patience. One confirmation averages ten minutes; three averages half an hour on a pending screen.
Almost none publish which they use, so it belongs in the questions you send rather than something you discover from a support ticket. A provider that releases optimistically for small amounts is carrying that risk for you, which is worth knowing and worth asking about.
Holding or converting#
Unlike a stablecoin, what you receive is worth something different by settlement. Providers offering fiat conversion absorb that inside a quote window and price it into a spread, which is frequently unpublished and usually the largest real cost of Bitcoin acceptance.
For donations the calculation differs, because a donor giving an appreciated asset may face better tax treatment than selling first. The nonprofit page covers why that argument does not transfer to stablecoins.
Lightning is a different product from on-chain#
On-chain Bitcoin is slow and comparatively expensive per transaction; Lightning is fast and cheap and requires the customer to be on it. A provider supporting both is offering two payment methods that happen to share an asset name.
OpenNode is the Bitcoin specialist on this list, supporting Lightning alongside on-chain and settling to fiat. For a business whose payments are small and frequent, that is a materially different offer from a general processor that lists Bitcoin among fifteen others.
Fee volatility is the part merchants underestimate#
Bitcoin network fees move with demand, and a fee that was trivial last month can be a meaningful share of a small payment this month. That cost lands on whoever the provider says it lands on, and providers differ on that default.
Ask who pays the network fee and whether it is configurable. 0xProcessing documents it sitting on the payer by default and movable to the merchant, which is the kind of explicit answer worth looking for elsewhere too.
Why Bitcoin-only providers still exist#
Because supporting one asset well is a coherent product. A Bitcoin-only provider does not have to reason about token contracts, chain reorganisations on a dozen networks, or a stablecoin issuer failing, and the resulting operation is simpler and often more reliable.
The cost is obvious: a customer holding anything else cannot pay. Whether that matters is a question about your customers rather than about the provider, and it is the same question the main ranking turns on.
What settlement in Bitcoin does to your books#
Holding a Bitcoin balance is a position, whether or not you meant to take one. A business that converts on receipt has a payment method; a business that holds has a payment method plus a treasury policy it may not have written down.
The accounting guide covers what to record at the moment of sale either way, and the volatility guide covers what the position actually costs when you would rather not have it.
Refunds and the price move#
A refund on a Bitcoin sale is a new payment at today's price, so a customer refunded after a rise costs you more than they paid and after a fall costs you less. Neither outcome is a mistake and both need a stated policy.
Most merchants settle on refunding the original fiat-equivalent amount rather than the original quantity of Bitcoin. The refunds guide covers why, and what to tell customers so the answer does not have to be improvised.
Custody matters more for a single asset#
A business holding Bitcoin has a position whether or not it meant to take one, and a custodial provider means that position sits on somebody else's balance sheet. Of the providers here, several settle to a wallet you control.
The custody guide covers what each side costs, and the decision is worth taking before the rate question rather than after it.
What to check about confirmations#
How many confirmations a provider waits for before treating a payment as settled is a commercial setting rather than a technical constant, and it determines how long your customer waits.
Ask each shortlisted provider for the number and whether it varies by amount. A provider that settles small payments on one confirmation and large ones on six is behaving sensibly, and it should tell you so.
Who this list is not for#
A merchant whose customers hold stablecoins, which by volume is most of them. Bitcoin acceptance is a deliberate choice about which customers you serve rather than a default starting point.
The USDT list covers the other side, and a business unsure which it needs should count its own payment history before choosing either page.
What separates the top of this list?
Speend scores 8.3 because published rate starts at 0.5% for same-currency settlement, among the lowest entry rates in this index. Its weakest point is the opposite side of the same coin: conversion pricing is not published, and the 1% figure for automatic conversion comes from secondary reporting rather than from the provider's own page.
NOWPayments sits at 8.0. The published asset list is the longest of any provider in this index, at 350+ currencies. Where it gives ground is that conversion and payout costs are not published, so the all-in figure cannot be computed from public pages.
A gap of less than half a point between two providers is inside the noise of any scoring method, this one included. When two entries are that close, decide on the constraint that disqualifies one of them rather than on the total.
What should you check before choosing from this list?
Whether the assets your customers actually hold are live for merchants in your country. Every provider here publishes a global list that is longer than the list available to you specifically, and none of them makes that gap easy to find. 20 of 36 providers on this list publish nothing about merchant verification, so plan onboarding time you cannot currently estimate.
Where should you read next?
- The full catalogue, which has every indexed provider rather than this cut of it.
- Head to head comparisons for the two providers you end up between.
- The weights, if you disagree with the order above.
- The guide on How to Choose a Crypto Payment Gateway.
Questions merchants ask
Which is the best bitcoin payment gateways?
Speend leads this list at 8.3 of 10 on the published weights. Merchant-side model: the business passes KYB, the payer opens nothing and sees no identity check. The order changes if you weight the criteria differently, which the methodology page lets you do.
How were these providers selected?
Every provider whose published network list includes Bitcoin, ordered by weighted score.
What do these providers cost?
Published processing rates on this list run from 0% to 2%, checked August 2026. Conversion cost is the larger variable and 29 of 36 providers here do not publish it.
Is this list paid for?
No provider pays to appear, to rank, or to be described in a particular way. Order comes from the weights on the methodology page applied to the scores on each card. Commercial relationships are described on the disclosure page.