Ranked #14 of 46 · checked 2026-08-31
CoinGate review
CoinGate scores 6.7 of 10 on this index and ranks #14 of 46. Processing starts at a published 1%. It lists 10+ assets. Verification is not disclosed. It publishes 89% of the fields tracked here.
European processor with the most completely published fee table in the index.
- Score
- 6.7/10
- Processing from
- 1%
- Assets listed
- 10+
- Merchant verification
- Not disclosed
- Custody
- Custodial
- Discloses
- 89%
CoinGate at a glance
Provider site| Processing from | 1% |
|---|---|
| Conversion | 1% |
| Payouts | Crypto withdrawals free; SEPA free; SWIFT 0.50%; crypto payouts EUR 0.50 + 0.5% |
| Assets listed | 10+ |
| Networks | Bitcoin, Ethereum, Litecoin |
| Merchant verification | Not disclosed |
| Custody | Custodial, the provider holds funds before settlement |
| Jurisdiction | Lithuania |
| Operating since | 2014 |
| Integrations | WooCommerce, PrestaShop, WHMCS, Wix, OpenCart |
A dash means the provider does not publish the figure, not that we did not look. Fee figures come from the provider's own pricing page.
What can CoinGate do?
Verticals the provider names publicly: ecommerce, retail-pos, saas.
How does CoinGate score?
Weights| Criterion | Weight | Score |
|---|---|---|
| Assets, networks and geography How many assets and chains are live for merchants, and in which markets settlement actually works. | 25 | 6 |
| All-in cost Processing percentage, conversion spread and payout cost taken together, not the headline number alone. | 25 | 7 |
| Onboarding and verification What a merchant must submit before going live, how long it takes, and which verticals are refused outright. | 20 | 6 |
| Integrations and API Maintained plugins, API surface, webhook reliability and whether a developer can reach a test transaction from public docs alone. | 18 | 8 |
| Support and operations Reachable channels, published response commitments, and documented handling of underpayment and wrong-network sends. | 12 | 7 |
| Weighted total | 6.7 |
CoinGate across the five criteria
Scored 0–10 · weighted total 6.7
Where it is strong
- Publishes processing, conversion, SEPA, SWIFT and crypto payout costs on one page, which almost no competitor does.
- SEPA and crypto withdrawals are free, so European merchants can compute an all-in figure precisely.
- Maintained plugins for five ecommerce platforms, all listed publicly.
Where it is weak
- The published asset count of 10+ is the narrowest of the general-purpose processors here.
- The 1% exchange fee on manual conversions is easy to miss and changes the all-in cost materially.
On this page
Why the published fee table is the whole story here#
Almost nothing else in this index lets you compute a total from public pages. Processing, conversion on manual exchanges, SEPA, SWIFT and crypto payout costs all appear on one page, which means a European merchant can price the relationship to within a small margin before speaking to anybody.
That is worth stating as a feature because it is so unusual. Across the providers indexed here, most publish a headline rate and stop, and the components they omit are typically larger than the one they show. A provider that publishes the awkward numbers has made a choice about how it competes.
Where the narrow asset list bites#
A published count of ten or so is the shortest of the general-purpose processors here, and it is a real constraint rather than a rounding error. A merchant selling internationally will meet customers holding assets outside that list, and the resulting lost sales are invisible because nobody files a complaint about a checkout they abandoned.
It is not a constraint at all for a business whose customers pay in Bitcoin and a stablecoin, which describes a large share of European ecommerce. Decide which of those two descriptions fits you before weighing this card against a broader one.
The 1% exchange fee that gets missed#
Manual conversions carry a stated 1% on top of processing, which is easy to overlook when comparing headline rates and material once you are converting regularly. A merchant converting everything is looking at roughly double the advertised figure, and that is still competitive here because the number is at least knowable.
The saving that offsets it is SEPA. Euro withdrawals are free and stated as free, against SWIFT at 0.50% and crypto payouts at a fixed euro amount plus a percentage. For a euro-banking business the settlement side costs nothing, which is not true anywhere else in this index.
Who should shortlist this#
European merchants who need a defensible number in front of a finance function, and who can live with a short asset list. That combination describes this provider precisely, and where it fits it fits better than anything else here.
Merchants selling worldwide should compare against the broader providers and weigh lost sales against pricing clarity. The fees guide covers how to put both sides into the same units.
Who should not choose this#
A marketplace or platform whose customers arrive holding unpredictable assets. Ten or so supported currencies will lose sales you never see, and the loss compounds quietly while the fee table stays impressive.
A business banking outside the euro area. The settlement advantage that makes this card strong is specifically SEPA, and a merchant paid in dollars or sterling is looking at SWIFT at 0.50% instead, which changes the arithmetic considerably.
How this card scores where it does#
Cost scores strongly on completeness rather than on the number, which is a deliberate feature of the method: a published component beats an unpublished one because a reader can check it. Coverage is the weakest line and drags the total.
At 89% disclosure this is the most forthcoming card in the index. That figure is a measurement of the provider rather than of our research, and it is the single most useful thing on the card for anyone deciding how much of the evaluation will happen over email.
One thing to check for your own case#
Whether your customers' assets fall inside the published list. It is the only line holding this card back, and for a large share of European merchants it is not a constraint at all.
If it is, the fee transparency here is worth less than it looks, because a total you can compute precisely for sales you do not make is not much of an advantage.
Where CoinGate sits in the index#
The short version of this card: the most completely published fee table in the index. Every figure above was read off the provider's own pages on 2026-08-31, and the fields it declines to publish are recorded as such rather than left blank.
The criterion worth reweighting here is coverage, since it is the only line dragging this card. A merchant with a stable customer base can reasonably set it low, at which point this provider moves up the index sharply. The methodology page lets you check that.
How should you read this card?
The score of 6.7 comes from the five weighted criteria above, applied identically to every provider in the catalogue. If you weight the criteria differently, the methodology page re-ranks the whole index against your weights, and the order you get is as valid as this one.
The disclosure figure of 89% is a separate measurement and often the more useful one. It counts only the fields CoinGate publishes itself, so it predicts how much of your evaluation will happen over email rather than from documentation. If you are already using CoinGate and looking to leave, the switching page covers the closest replacements.
What CoinGate does not disclose
Checked against the provider's own pages on 2026-08-31. CoinGate does not publish what merchant verification it requires, whether it offers point of sale.
Ask for each of these in writing before signing. A provider that answers a factual question with positioning has told you something useful about the next two years.
CoinGate compared
All comparisonsWhere else CoinGate appears
Questions about CoinGate
Is CoinGate legit?
CoinGate has operated since 2014 and is based in Lithuania. It publishes 89% of the fields this index tracks. Nothing here is a security assessment: run your own checks on custody and settlement before sending volume through any processor.
What does CoinGate charge?
The published processing rate starts at 1%, checked 2026-08-31. Conversion is published at 1%.
Does CoinGate require KYC?
CoinGate does not publish its merchant verification requirements. That is a planning risk rather than an answer, and it is why this card scores as it does on onboarding.
What are the best CoinGate alternatives?
The three closest substitutes are NOWPayments, Cryptomus, Plisio. Which one fits depends on whether you are leaving over cost, coverage or onboarding.