Ranked #22 of 46 · checked 2026-09-02
Bitnovo Pay review
Bitnovo Pay scores 6.3 of 10 on this index and ranks #22 of 46. Processing starts at a published 0.95%. It publishes no asset count. Verification is not disclosed. It publishes 53% of the fields tracked here.
Spanish gateway priced from 0.95% that settles every payment into a euro bank account.
- Score
- 6.3/10
- Processing from
- 0.95%
- Assets listed
- —
- Merchant verification
- Not disclosed
- Custody
- Custodial
- Discloses
- 53%
Bitnovo Pay at a glance
Provider site| Processing from | 0.95% |
|---|---|
| Conversion | |
| Payouts | |
| Assets listed | |
| Networks | Bitcoin, Ethereum, Litecoin, XRP |
| Merchant verification | Not disclosed |
| Custody | Custodial, the provider holds funds before settlement |
| Jurisdiction | Spain |
| Operating since | |
| Integrations | WooCommerce, PrestaShop, Shopify, OpenCart, Magento, API |
A dash means the provider does not publish the figure, not that we did not look. Fee figures come from the provider's own pricing page.
What can Bitnovo Pay do?
Verticals the provider names publicly: ecommerce, retail-pos.
How does Bitnovo Pay score?
Weights| Criterion | Weight | Score |
|---|---|---|
| Assets, networks and geography How many assets and chains are live for merchants, and in which markets settlement actually works. | 25 | 5 |
| All-in cost Processing percentage, conversion spread and payout cost taken together, not the headline number alone. | 25 | 8 |
| Onboarding and verification What a merchant must submit before going live, how long it takes, and which verticals are refused outright. | 20 | 6 |
| Integrations and API Maintained plugins, API surface, webhook reliability and whether a developer can reach a test transaction from public docs alone. | 18 | 7 |
| Support and operations Reachable channels, published response commitments, and documented handling of underpayment and wrong-network sends. | 12 | 5 |
| Weighted total | 6.3 |
Bitnovo Pay across the five criteria
Scored 0–10 · weighted total 6.3
Where it is strong
- Publishes a rate from 0.95% and states it plainly against the 2-3% it quotes for card acceptance.
- Names five maintained ecommerce plugins, which is above the median for this index at this price.
- Registered with the Bank of Spain, the French AMF and the Dutch central bank, with all three registration numbers published.
Where it is weak
- Publishes no asset count, naming five currencies and referring vaguely to others.
- Neither the conversion spread nor any payout cost appears on the page, so the euro figure that lands in the bank cannot be computed.
On this page
The rate is the argument, and it is made against cards#
The page prices crypto acceptance from 0.95% and sets it directly beside 2-3% for card payments and 3-11% for other methods. That framing is unusual and it is the honest one: the competitor for this product is not another crypto gateway, it is the card terminal already on the counter.
Against that benchmark the number is strong. Against the other cards in this index it is mid-table, and the word before it is doing work — a rate from 0.95% is a floor, and the page does not say what a small merchant with modest volume actually pays.
Euros in the bank, with the conversion cost unstated#
Payments are converted inside the provider's system and arrive as euros in the merchant's bank account. For a Spanish shop that removes the entire volatility question in one step, and it is the reason this card exists.
The cost of that conversion is not published. Every payment passes through it, so it applies to every euro the merchant receives, and a spread of a percent would more than double the headline rate without appearing anywhere on the page. The conversion guide explains how to measure it from a live quote.
Five plugins, which is more than it sounds#
WooCommerce, PrestaShop, Shopify, OpenCart and Magento cover most of what a European small business actually runs, and PrestaShop in particular is a Spanish and French staple that plenty of larger processors ignore.
That shelf is the strongest practical argument on this card. A shop owner can install something and be taking payments the same day, which is not true of the API-only providers sitting at similar rates elsewhere in the index.
Three regulators, with numbers attached#
The operating company is registered with the Bank of Spain under D687, in France under PSAN number E2023-102, and with the Dutch central bank under R193399. Publishing the registration numbers rather than the word regulated is a meaningful distinction, because a number can be checked.
None of that is scored as a proxy for quality, and it should not be read as one. It does mean a merchant can establish who they are contracting with and under whose supervision, which matters more when something goes wrong than when it does not.
The missing asset count#
Bitcoin, Ethereum, USDC, Litecoin and XRP are named, followed by a reference to other popular cryptocurrencies. That phrasing is the reason this card carries a dash where the count should be: five named assets and an unquantified remainder is not a figure a reader can rely on.
For a physical shop taking occasional crypto payments, five well-chosen assets is genuinely enough. For an online checkout serving customers across Europe, an unknown list is a risk that only shows up as sales that quietly do not happen.
Who should shortlist this#
A Spanish or wider southern European retailer with a physical presence, a card terminal to compare against, and a shop on one of the five supported platforms. Under those conditions this card is straightforward to justify and quick to deploy.
It also suits any merchant whose accounting function needs euros and nothing else. The retail page sets out the rest of what a counter operation needs to check before switching.
Who should not#
A merchant who wants to hold what they receive. Everything converts on arrival by design, so this is a fiat product with a crypto front end, and a business intending to keep bitcoin on its balance sheet is buying the wrong thing.
A high-volume operation that needs a modelled cost. With no conversion figure and no payout figure published, the total cannot be calculated from public pages, and at scale that gap is worth more than the difference between 0.95% and one percent.
Where Bitnovo Pay sits in the index#
A clean regional card: good plugins, a competitive published rate, real regulatory footing, and two significant blanks where the conversion and payout costs should be. It is the sort of provider that suits a shop and frustrates a finance team.
Everything above came from the provider's own pages on 2026-09-02. If cost transparency carries weight for you, the methodology page will show how far this card falls once the unpublished components are priced as unknowns.
How should you read this card?
The score of 6.3 comes from the five weighted criteria above, applied identically to every provider in the catalogue. If you weight the criteria differently, the methodology page re-ranks the whole index against your weights, and the order you get is as valid as this one.
The disclosure figure of 53% is a separate measurement and often the more useful one. It counts only the fields Bitnovo Pay publishes itself, so it predicts how much of your evaluation will happen over email rather than from documentation. If you are already using Bitnovo Pay and looking to leave, the switching page covers the closest replacements.
What Bitnovo Pay does not disclose
Checked against the provider's own pages on 2026-09-02. Bitnovo Pay does not publish what conversion costs, what payouts cost, how many assets it supports, what merchant verification it requires, founded, whether mass payouts are supported, whether white label is available, whether recurring billing is supported, whether it offers invoicing.
Ask for each of these in writing before signing. A provider that answers a factual question with positioning has told you something useful about the next two years.
Bitnovo Pay compared
All comparisonsWhere else Bitnovo Pay appears
Questions about Bitnovo Pay
Is Bitnovo Pay legit?
Bitnovo Pay does not publish a founding date and is based in Spain. It publishes 53% of the fields this index tracks. Nothing here is a security assessment: run your own checks on custody and settlement before sending volume through any processor.
What does Bitnovo Pay charge?
The published processing rate starts at 0.95%, checked 2026-09-02. Conversion cost is not published, so this is a floor rather than an all-in figure.
Does Bitnovo Pay require KYC?
Bitnovo Pay does not publish its merchant verification requirements. That is a planning risk rather than an answer, and it is why this card scores as it does on onboarding.
What are the best Bitnovo Pay alternatives?
The three closest substitutes are CoinGate, PayCek, PassimPay. Which one fits depends on whether you are leaving over cost, coverage or onboarding.