Ranked #7 of 46 · checked 2026-09-06
Crypto.com Pay review
Crypto.com Pay scores 7.1 of 10 on this index and ranks #7 of 46. Processing starts at a published 0%. It lists 20+ assets. Verification is kyb only. It publishes 84% of the fields tracked here.
No transaction fee and a 0.5% settlement fee, fiat payouts in USD, EUR and AUD, plugins for six platforms.
- Score
- 7.1/10
- Processing from
- 0%
- Assets listed
- 20+
- Merchant verification
- KYB only
- Custody
- Custodial
- Discloses
- 84%
Crypto.com Pay at a glance
Provider site| Processing from | 0% |
|---|---|
| Conversion | 0.5% |
| Payouts | 0.5% settlement fee; bank transmittance charges may apply on fiat payouts |
| Assets listed | 20+ |
| Networks | Bitcoin, Ethereum, Cronos |
| Merchant verification | KYB only |
| Custody | Custodial, the provider holds funds before settlement |
| Jurisdiction | Malta |
| Operating since | |
| Integrations | Shopify, WooCommerce, PrestaShop, Magento, Ecwid, OpenCart |
A dash means the provider does not publish the figure, not that we did not look. Fee figures come from the provider's own pricing page.
What can Crypto.com Pay do?
Verticals the provider names publicly: ecommerce, saas, retail-pos.
How does Crypto.com Pay score?
Weights| Criterion | Weight | Score |
|---|---|---|
| Assets, networks and geography How many assets and chains are live for merchants, and in which markets settlement actually works. | 25 | 7 |
| All-in cost Processing percentage, conversion spread and payout cost taken together, not the headline number alone. | 25 | 8 |
| Onboarding and verification What a merchant must submit before going live, how long it takes, and which verticals are refused outright. | 20 | 6 |
| Integrations and API Maintained plugins, API surface, webhook reliability and whether a developer can reach a test transaction from public docs alone. | 18 | 8 |
| Support and operations Reachable channels, published response commitments, and documented handling of underpayment and wrong-network sends. | 12 | 6 |
| Weighted total | 7.1 |
Crypto.com Pay across the five criteria
Scored 0–10 · weighted total 7.1
Where it is strong
- The transaction fee is stated as zero and the settlement fee as 0.5%, which makes the all-in cost one of the few in this index that can be computed from public pages.
- Fiat settlement in USD, EUR and AUD with published minimums, so a finance team knows before signing what arrives and when.
- Six maintained plugins plus a documented REST API with webhooks, refunds and subscriptions, which is a wider integration surface than most providers publish.
Where it is weak
- Settlement currencies are limited to three fiat currencies plus four crypto assets, and EUR is restricted to SEPA countries.
- Merchant onboarding is described only as compliance approval, with no public statement of what documents a business must provide or how long it takes.
On this page
Why a zero transaction fee is not a zero cost#
The provider states that payments carry no transaction fee and that the merchant receives the full fiat amount of the sale. What it charges instead is a settlement fee of 0.5% when the balance is paid out, plus whatever the banking intermediaries take on a fiat transfer. For a merchant settling in crypto to a Crypto.com account, the 0.5% is effectively the whole cost.
That structure is unusual and worth understanding before comparing the headline with a 1% competitor. The comparison is honest only once both are expressed as a share of settled value, and on that basis this card is among the cheapest in the index that also offers fiat. The figures come from the merchant page and the developer documentation, checked on the date shown.
Who the closed-loop side is for#
A large share of the value here is the app's own user base: a customer already holding a balance in the Crypto.com app pays with a scan, without gas fees and without waiting for confirmations. For a merchant whose customers overlap with that base, conversion at checkout is materially better than an on-chain flow.
The same property is the limitation. A customer without the app pays on chain from a wallet, and that path supports fewer assets and behaves like any other gateway. Ask what share of your customers already hold an account before treating the frictionless case as the typical one.
What the settlement rules actually say#
Fiat payouts are available in USD, EUR and AUD, with EUR limited to SEPA countries, and the documentation publishes minimum payout amounts for each: 100 USD, 130 EUR, 150 AUD. Crypto settlement is available in BTC, ETH, CRO and USDC with their own minimums. Small merchants should read those floors carefully, because a slow month can leave a balance sitting below the threshold.
GBP settlement was announced separately for eligible merchants and is not listed in the general documentation, so treat it as something to confirm in writing rather than assume. Transmittance fees on the bank leg are explicitly outside the provider's control, which is the one component of the cost that cannot be read off the page.
Integration surface#
Plugins are published for Shopify, WooCommerce, PrestaShop, Magento 2, Ecwid and OpenCart, and the API covers payments, refunds, customers, products, subscriptions and invoices with webhook events for each. Refunds are supported in full and in part, which matters more than it sounds: several providers in this index treat a refund as a manual outbound payment.
Subscriptions are handled as a documented flow with automatic billing attempts and failure events. That does not change the underlying constraint of crypto billing, where a customer with an empty balance cannot be charged, but it does mean the retry and notification logic exists rather than being yours to build.
What is not published#
Merchant verification is referred to as compliance approval and nothing more. There is no public list of documents, no stated processing time and no statement of which verticals are declined. For a regulated entity in Malta the process is unlikely to be light, and the absence of detail is the reason onboarding scores where it does here.
Mass payouts and white label are not mentioned on the public pages at all, and the founding date of the payments product is not stated. Each of those is recorded as not disclosed rather than assumed, and each is a fair question to put to the provider in writing before signing.
Who should not choose this#
A business that needs settlement in a currency outside the three listed, or in a country the SEPA restriction excludes for euro. The rate is attractive and irrelevant if the money cannot reach your bank in the form you need.
A merchant serving a customer base that does not use the app and pays exclusively from external wallets. The frictionless path is the reason to pick this provider, and without it the offer narrows to a competent but ordinary custodial gateway with a small asset list.
How this card scores where it does#
Cost scores well because two of the three cost components are published as numbers and the third is explicitly attributed to banks rather than hidden. Integrations score well on the breadth of plugins and the depth of the API. Coverage is held back by the short settlement list and the three networks named publicly.
Onboarding is the weakest verifiable line, for the reason above: a regulated provider that publishes nothing about its process forces every merchant to discover it by applying. The methodology page lets you reweight that if your business has already been through a similar process elsewhere.
Where Crypto.com Pay sits in the index#
The short version: the cheapest published route to fiat settlement in this index for a merchant whose customers already use the app, and an ordinary custodial gateway for everyone else. Every figure above was read from the merchant page and the developer documentation on 2026-09-06.
If you disagree with the position, the criterion to move is coverage. Widen its weight and the short settlement list costs more; narrow it and the published cost lifts this card toward the top. The comparison with Coinbase Commerce is the natural next read.
How should you read this card?
The score of 7.1 comes from the five weighted criteria above, applied identically to every provider in the catalogue. If you weight the criteria differently, the methodology page re-ranks the whole index against your weights, and the order you get is as valid as this one.
The disclosure figure of 84% is a separate measurement and often the more useful one. It counts only the fields Crypto.com Pay publishes itself, so it predicts how much of your evaluation will happen over email rather than from documentation. If you are already using Crypto.com Pay and looking to leave, the switching page covers the closest replacements.
What Crypto.com Pay does not disclose
Checked against the provider's own pages on 2026-09-06. Crypto.com Pay does not publish founded, whether mass payouts are supported, whether white label is available.
Ask for each of these in writing before signing. A provider that answers a factual question with positioning has told you something useful about the next two years.
Crypto.com Pay compared
All comparisonsWhere else Crypto.com Pay appears
Questions about Crypto.com Pay
Is Crypto.com Pay legit?
Crypto.com Pay does not publish a founding date and is based in Malta. It publishes 84% of the fields this index tracks. Nothing here is a security assessment: run your own checks on custody and settlement before sending volume through any processor.
What does Crypto.com Pay charge?
The published processing rate starts at 0%, checked 2026-09-06. Conversion is published at 0.5%.
Does Crypto.com Pay require KYC?
Crypto.com Pay requires kyb only for merchants, per its published documentation.
What are the best Crypto.com Pay alternatives?
The three closest substitutes are CoinGate, Coinbase Commerce, ForumPay. Which one fits depends on whether you are leaving over cost, coverage or onboarding.