Crypto Gateway Index

27 providers · checked September 2026

Crypto payment buttons

Speend leads this list at 8.3 of 10. NOWPayments follows at 8.0, then BTCPay Server at 7.7. The lowest-effort way to accept crypto, using a hosted invoice or a payment button that needs no backend code, compared on published rates and setup.

How this list was built

Providers offering hosted invoicing or a checkout that a merchant can deploy without server-side code.

The shortlist

Weights
Gateway Score From Assets Verification Settles fiat Discloses
Speend 8.3 0.5% 300 KYB only 63%
NOWPayments 8.0 1% 350 Not disclosed 68%
BTCPay Server 7.7 0% None stated No 74%
CoinPayments 7.4 0.5% Not disclosed 58%
Cryptomus 7.4 0.4% 120 Not disclosed 74%
Crypto.com Pay 7.1 0% 20 KYB only Yes 84%
CoinRemitter 7.0 0% 13 None stated 63%
Paymento 6.9 0.5% None stated No 63%
Plisio 6.9 0.5% 12 Not disclosed 68%
Whitepay 6.8 0.4% 200 Not disclosed 68%
CoinGate 6.7 1% 10 Not disclosed Yes 89%
ForumPay 6.7 0.5% KYB only Yes 79%
MyCryptoCheckout 6.7 0% 100 None stated No 89%
OxaPay 6.6 1.5% 20 None stated 79%
PayCek 6.4 0% 59 Not disclosed Yes 74%
Coinbase Commerce 6.2 1% 10 KYB and KYC 58%
Apirone 6.1 0% Not disclosed 58%
OpenNode 6.1 1 Not disclosed Yes 68%
ALFAcoins 6.0 0.99% 19 Not disclosed 53%
Radom 6.0 0.5% 12 Not disclosed Yes 68%
Aurpay 5.7 0.8% 8 Not disclosed 47%
BitPay 5.6 2% 15 KYB and KYC Yes 79%
Blockonomics 5.6 1% Not disclosed 32%
Speed 5.6 1% 3 Not disclosed No 74%
Coinsnap 4.8 1 Not disclosed Yes 53%
Zaprite 4.8 1% 2 Not disclosed 58%
xMoney 4.7 Not disclosed Yes 53%

Every provider on this list

Speend #1
8.3/ 10

Merchant-side model: the business passes KYB, the payer opens nothing and sees no identity check.

From 0.5% 300 assets KYB only
NOWPayments #2
8.0/ 10

Widest published asset list in the category, at a flat rate, non-custodial by default.

From 1% 350 assets Not disclosed
BTCPay Server #3
7.7/ 10

Self-hosted open-source processor that takes no fee and never holds the merchant's funds.

From 0% assets None stated
CoinPayments #4
7.4/ 10

Long-running processor split-priced between coins and tokens, with batch withdrawals.

From 0.5% assets Not disclosed
Cryptomus #5
7.4/ 10

Rate falls to 0.4% with volume, and the plugin range is unusually wide for a newer provider.

From 0.4% 120 assets Not disclosed
Crypto.com Pay #6
7.1/ 10

No transaction fee and a 0.5% settlement fee, fiat payouts in USD, EUR and AUD, plugins for six platforms.

From 0% 20 assets KYB only
CoinRemitter #7
7.0/ 10

Charges nothing to accept and 0.23% on withdrawal, with no identity check at registration.

From 0% 13 assets None stated
Paymento #8
6.9/ 10

Non-custodial, wallet-to-wallet gateway with no merchant KYC, a 0.5% fee and a starting credit that covers the first sales.

From 0.5% assets None stated
Plisio #9
6.9/ 10

Lowest published headline rate, with a white-label tier priced openly rather than on request.

From 0.5% 12 assets Not disclosed
Whitepay #10
6.8/ 10

Charges nothing on settlement, payouts, conversion or mass payouts, and publishes that.

From 0.4% 200 assets Not disclosed
CoinGate #11
6.7/ 10

European processor with the most completely published fee table in the index.

From 1% 10 assets Not disclosed
ForumPay #12
6.7/ 10

One all-inclusive fee from 0.5% with conversion and next-day fiat settlement built in, plus in-store terminals.

From 0.5% assets KYB only
MyCryptoCheckout #13
6.7/ 10

WordPress plugin with a flat annual licence and zero per-transaction fees, paying wallet to wallet across 100+ assets.

From 0% 100 assets None stated
OxaPay #14
6.6/ 10

Publishes a separate rate for every product it sells, from 1.5% invoices to 2% white label.

From 1.5% 20 assets None stated
PayCek #15
6.4/ 10

Croatian processor that charges the merchant nothing and pays out the invoice in euros.

From 0% 59 assets Not disclosed
Coinbase Commerce #16
6.2/ 10

A flat 1% from a listed public company, settling on-chain into USDC.

From 1% 10 assets KYB and KYC
Apirone #17
6.1/ 10

Non custodial, free to accept, with the charge moved entirely to withdrawal.

From 0% assets Not disclosed
OpenNode #18
6.1/ 10

Bitcoin and Lightning only, with free conversion and same-day fiat settlement.

From 1 assets Not disclosed
ALFAcoins #19
6.0/ 10

Publishes a per-asset network fee table, which almost nobody in this category does.

From 0.99% 19 assets Not disclosed
Radom #20
6.0/ 10

Prices crypto payments at 0.5% plus a flat 50 cents and publishes a rate for every other product too.

From 0.5% 12 assets Not disclosed
Aurpay #21
5.7/ 10

Eight stablecoin-and-Bitcoin rails at 0.8%, with plugins for eight ecommerce platforms.

From 0.8% 8 assets Not disclosed
BitPay #22
5.6/ 10

The longest-running processor in the category, priced at the top of it.

From 2% 15 assets KYB and KYC
Blockonomics #23
5.6/ 10

Non custodial by design, at a flat 1%, with the first ten payments free.

From 1% assets Not disclosed
Speed #24
5.6/ 10

Lightning-first gateway for Bitcoin, USDT and USDC: no fee until 0.5 BTC of volume, 1% after, sub-second settlement.

From 1% 3 assets Not disclosed
Coinsnap #25
4.8/ 10

Bitcoin and Lightning only, with the longest list of shop plugins of any commercial card here.

From 1 assets Not disclosed
Zaprite #26
4.8/ 10

Subscription billing for Bitcoin businesses: $25 a month, 1% on top, capped at $15 per transaction.

From 1% 2 assets Not disclosed
xMoney #27
4.7/ 10

Licensed Romanian e-money institution offering crypto acceptance, recurring billing and card issuing.

From assets Not disclosed

The lowest-effort way in, and what it costs#

A hosted invoice or payment button means the provider renders the payment page and you link to it. No server code, no webhook handler in the first version, no key management. For testing whether your customers will pay in crypto at all, it is the correct amount of work.

What you give up is control of the checkout experience and, usually, automatic order reconciliation. Payments arrive in a dashboard rather than in your order system, and somebody matches them by hand. That is fine at low volume and stops being fine quickly.

When to graduate to a real integration#

When manual reconciliation costs more than an afternoon a month, or when a missed payment reaches a customer before it reaches you. Both thresholds arrive sooner than merchants expect, and both are cheaper to plan for than to hit.

The graduation is not a rebuild. Every provider on this list that offers a button also offers webhooks, so the second version adds a handler rather than replacing the first. The webhooks guide covers what that handler has to do.

Most providers offer this, so price on other things#

Hosted invoicing is close to universal in this category, which means the button itself is not a differentiator and should not drive the choice. Rate, asset coverage, custody and settlement all still apply exactly as they do elsewhere in this index.

Sort this list on whichever of those matters to you rather than on the feature it is named after. The main ranking applies the full weighted method across the same providers.

The expiry problem buttons make worse#

A hosted invoice fixes a rate for a window and then expires. A customer who opens the page, wanders off and returns twenty minutes later finds a dead invoice, and with a button integration nobody on your side knows it happened.

The quote-lock entry explains why the window exists and why it cannot simply be made long. The practical mitigation is to check the window length at your shortlisted providers, because it varies more than the rates do.

What happens when a customer underpays#

They will. Wallets that subtract the network fee from the send amount produce invoices short by a few cents routinely, and with a hosted button you find out when the customer emails asking where their order is.

Ask each provider what its hosted invoice does in that case: settle partially, hold, or expire. The underpayment entry covers why the situation is so common, and the answer varies enough across this list to be worth checking before you pick.

Buttons and donations#

A payment button is close to ideal for donations, where there is no order to reconcile and no fulfilment to trigger. Asset breadth matters more here than anywhere else, because a donor holding an unusual asset is a donor you either accept or lose.

NOWPayments publishes the widest asset list in this index and serves nonprofits explicitly, which is why it heads most sensible orderings of this list for that use.

The point-of-sale variant#

Several providers here extend the hosted-invoice idea to a physical counter, rendering a QR code on a tablet or phone. It is the same integration shape with the same reconciliation caveat, and it suits a small retailer testing acceptance without touching the till system.

The constraint is confirmation time rather than software. A customer standing at a counter will not wait for block confirmations on a slow chain, so the network on offer matters more in person than online.

Before you paste the button in#

Decide who checks the dashboard and how often, because that person is your entire payment reconciliation process until you build something. Write it down rather than assuming it.

Then run the integration checklist anyway. Most of it applies to a button integration, and the items that do not are the ones you are deliberately deferring rather than the ones you get to skip.

The dashboard is your reconciliation, so name its owner#

With a hosted button, payments land in a provider dashboard rather than in your order system, and somebody matches them by hand. That person is your entire payment operations function until you build something.

Write down who it is and how often they check. A button integration with nobody watching produces customers waiting on orders that were paid for days ago.

What to do when volume outgrows it#

Add a webhook handler rather than replacing the provider. Every provider on this list that offers a button also offers callbacks, so version two is an addition and not a rebuild.

The webhooks guide covers what that handler must verify, and signature checking belongs in the first version of it rather than the second.

The expiry window is worth asking about#

A hosted invoice fixes a rate for a window and then dies, and with a button integration nobody on your side learns that it happened.

Window lengths vary more across this list than the rates do. Ask each shortlisted provider for the number before choosing on price.

Donations are the strongest case#

There is no order to reconcile and no fulfilment to trigger, which removes the main drawback of a button integration entirely.

Asset breadth matters more here than anywhere else, because a donor holding an unusual asset is a donor you either accept or lose.

What separates the top of this list?

Speend scores 8.3 because published rate starts at 0.5% for same-currency settlement, among the lowest entry rates in this index. Its weakest point is the opposite side of the same coin: conversion pricing is not published, and the 1% figure for automatic conversion comes from secondary reporting rather than from the provider's own page.

NOWPayments sits at 8.0. The published asset list is the longest of any provider in this index, at 350+ currencies. Where it gives ground is that conversion and payout costs are not published, so the all-in figure cannot be computed from public pages.

A gap of less than half a point between two providers is inside the noise of any scoring method, this one included. When two entries are that close, decide on the constraint that disqualifies one of them rather than on the total.

What should you check before choosing from this list?

Whether the assets your customers actually hold are live for merchants in your country. Every provider here publishes a global list that is longer than the list available to you specifically, and none of them makes that gap easy to find. 17 of 27 providers on this list publish nothing about merchant verification, so plan onboarding time you cannot currently estimate.

Where should you read next?

Questions merchants ask

Which is the best crypto payment buttons?

Speend leads this list at 8.3 of 10 on the published weights. Merchant-side model: the business passes KYB, the payer opens nothing and sees no identity check. The order changes if you weight the criteria differently, which the methodology page lets you do.

How were these providers selected?

Providers offering hosted invoicing or a checkout that a merchant can deploy without server-side code.

What do these providers cost?

Published processing rates on this list run from 0% to 2%, checked August 2026. Conversion cost is the larger variable and 21 of 27 providers here do not publish it.

Is this list paid for?

No provider pays to appear, to rank, or to be described in a particular way. Order comes from the weights on the methodology page applied to the scores on each card. Commercial relationships are described on the disclosure page.

Last checked 9 days ago